Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:29 p.m. - 2007-06-17
Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee
The knee I tweaked last week didn't get better. I ran for a half hour Monday and again on Wednesday. It generally felt lousy the rest of the day I ran, slightly better the following day and not too bad right before I would run. I don't think anything is torn or broken. It has the feel of an overuse injury. I haven't been out since early Wednesday now and it feels better still. However, it's still slightly tender to the touch and after lengthy sits become stiff and sore.
I was out in the garden just after dawn this morning and couldn't help but feel guilty about wasting the cool hours of the day in the yard when I should be training. Somewhere in the back of my mind I could hear Jim Morrison saying: "I'll tell you this...
no eternal reward will forgive us now for wasting the dawn." I'm sure Jim's idea of wasting the dawn differs greatly from mine. But as Jim hasn't seen a dawn since about '71 there's no way for us to compare notes.
While the time away from the pavement will help whatever this is, I hate to lose the aerobic progress I've made. I'm going to try to substitute cycling and rolerblading for my runs for awhile. They aren't exactly interchangeable, but they're both low impact and good exercise. Maybe I can maintain what aerobic fitness I've already achieved, while icing and nursing my knee back to a place where it can take the concussion of the running again. This is the kind of thing that would haved cleared up pretty quickly in my youth. This whole aging thing really bobs for bull balls.


0 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!