Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:11 p.m. - 2007-06-25
Optimistic
Ran today for the first time since Wed., June 13th. Did a 5 minute walk, a VERY slow 30 minute jog and then another 5 minute walk to cool down. My 30 minute jog covered all of 2.38 miles so it was even slower than my now legendary 1st 5k. I felt good afterward and thought maybe I should do a little more, but I quit just to be safe.

After a little breakfast, I walked around my Monday golf game. I had ridden in a cart the half dozen times I'd played since my last run. I prefer walking even in the most extreme heat but had ridden to save wear and tear on that knee joint.

Took a couple hour nap since then and awoke expecting a little stiffness and soreness in the knee only to find... nothing. No, not no knee. No pain! Woo-hoo!!! So for the rest of the week I'll still be taking it easy. I'll limit it to half an hour on Wed, Fri, and Sunday and if I feel like I can handle a little more exercise, I'll push myself on my bike for about 45 minutes to 1 hour on my off days. But if I don't, I won't. No point in overdoing it and having to sit on the sidelines again. Slow progress is still progress.


0 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!