Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:47 p.m. - 2007-09-16
Round 1, paragrapgh c
What: The Shoreline Classic 5K&15K

Where: Decatur,IL

When: September 16th, 2007

Time: 7:30am for the 15K, 8am for the 5K

Course: Asphalt roadway along the west side of Lake Decatur

Weather: Overcast and 58 degrees

I had no plans to run another one of these til late Oct. or early Nov.
I saw this one listed on the web last night about midnight. I hadn't run since Thursday and had been pretty uninspired lately and thought maybe it could jumpstart me a little. I didn't set my alarm but figured if I just happened to wake up before dawn (I usually only sleep 4 or 5 hours anyway) I'd shake out the cobwebs and bust it to Decatur.

It was a nice cool morning. Fall has really come on us in a hurry. the start and finish was on the street in front of the Nelson Park pavillion. This was not a chip timed race so I had to eat the start again. Felt pretty good throughout. Tried to maintain a pace where I was able to breathe easily. For some reason I find it easier to do in a race than when I'm out on my own. I don't know if it's due to adrenalin or if I'm just nervous enough it changes my breathing a little. At any rate, I knocked a little more than a minute off my last time. Finished at 28:12. That was with the initial walk back at the starting line from the end of the pack. Only lowpoint was some 11 year old kid that overtook me and slipped into the gate ahead of me at the finish. (little bastard)
New shoes and running socks felt good. Won't know if they'll really help to prevent blisters til I start putting in a few longer runs. I signed up for an 8 mile cross-country run in October. I'll need to do a few longer runs ahead of that just to make sure I can do it. I don't want to leave myself Munsonned out there in the middle of the woods.


3 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!