Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:50 a.m. - 2007-12-15
Beyond the parakeet
First things first, there are no dead parakeets in my freezer. When I came home from work the next day, there was a little pile of yellow feathers in the mulch off to the side of the front porch. Some animal got themselves a tasty morsel. I just had to resolve myself to find a different stocking stuffer.
Last week was the first week after the 10 miler. I recovered pretty quickly and felt fine by the time I started work Monday evening. I vowed to take it a little easy for the week and didn't run again until a quick 3 miles on Wednesday. I had planned to run again Friday morning. It snowed a couple inches while I was at work Thursday night and I blew it off, rather than get out and get my feet wet. Saturday, Sunday, Monday and Tuesday gave us freezing rain and a dazzling display of ice covered ...well...everything. I did no running during that time. I had a dread fear of giving myself the mother of all groin pulls. So from Dec. 3rd til Dec. 11th, I logged 3 miles. Pretty impressive! This week it rained like a s.o.b. Tuesday night. All the ice melted and it was pretty warm, 34ish maybe. It was a couple degrees above freezing so it felt good. I went out and got 4 miles after work. It was a little cooler Friday morning, mid 20's maybe, but it was dry and I went out and did 4 more. I'm going to have to be opportunistic with the running or I'm going to spend all winter on the recumbent bicycle in front of the TV. There's nothing wrong with that, but it's not what I want to be doing. It's snowing this morning. Originally they were just calling for half an inch to an inch. They've upgraded it to 2-4. I'll have to wait to see what old Mother Nature lays on us and then how the street department deals with it.
I wanted to do a little longer run Sunday. My work weeks have been running between 60 and 70 hours a week. So I just don't seem to have a whole lot of extra energy after I've been at work all day. I need to be able to do some longer runs on my one day off. Especially after I've gotten a couple hours sleep. That's got to help.
I seem to be sporting my first really good cold of the season. The sore throat part has passed and I'm just doing the nasal congestion part now. I guess that hasn't exactly helped my energy level either. I'm eating vitamin C tablets like they were their own food group. I don't know if it's helping, but it's not hurting.
OK! That's all I've got for today. If it snows to much I may have to invest in some snow shoes.


5 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!