Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:24 a.m. - 2008-02-08
transcontinental journey

Just before the new year I found this website that would keep track of my mileage for the year and, well, pretty much for eternity if I choose to input the data. It also shows how much progress I'm making if I were actually making a trip across the country. It allows you set set goals and follow other people with similar goals. It also shows you little graphics of your journey, for instance:

progress map1

progress map1b

That's where I was at the end of January. At my current pace I'll reach my home state of Illinois in the spring of 2010. It seems unlikely I'll ever make it that far. We'll see!

I recovered fairly quickly from last weekend's snow fest. While it was tiring, it was really easy on the joints. I went out the next day and got in 3.5 miles. Wednesday and Thursday brought runs of 4.2 and 5.1 miles. I'm going to take today off for a rest and then try to get in a longer one tomorrow. I'm hoping for 10 miles.
I'm going to take a stab at an oddball half-marathon Sunday Feb. 17th. It's probably overreaching a bit but wtf. It won't kill me and the worst I could do is fail. If there's a blizzard the day before I'll blow it off. I don't really need any repeats of last weekend. It'll be on the streets of Dublin,OH. At least they'd be plowed if it did snow. And since it's the weekend of another bullshit government holiday, I'll have another day to recover before I go back to work. That's all I've got.


5 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!