Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:48 p.m. - 2007-08-05
Bambi Wants to Rumble
I managed to get in 3 of the 30 minute runs this week. Ran on Tues, Thurs, and Sat. The unseasonably mild weather in July had me waiting til I'd taken a morning nap and headed for my jogs in the noon-o-clock hour. Tuesdays run in the once again in the 90's heat left me feeling a little too warm and strokish. Thurs and Sat I opted to go out after work in the morning about 5:45ish. Distances in the half hour were 2.96, 3.18 and 3.14 miles. The 3.18 was a new PR. The 3.14 was potentially the best of the week but due to odd circumstances fell a little short of Thurs. The odd circumstances involved me going for my jog Sat at Meadowbrook Park in Urbana. Part of the reason I like it is its wide paths, sprawling meadows of wildflowers and constant presence of wildlife. However, at about 3.5 minutes into the run, I rounded a bend and saw 2 deer standing on the path ahead of me. As I got closer they remained motionless, eyeballing me as I came down the path. At about 50 feet I slowed as it became apparent they had no intention of moving. I came to a dead halt at 10 feet from them. They looked at me unblinking and holding their ground. I'm thinking: "Am I about to get mugged by these damn things?" I stomped my foot and they bolted in the tall grass. The whole event seemed to take forever but probably lasted no more than a few seconds. I finished the jog .04 miles short of the previous 30 minute PR. I think I might have eclipsed it if I hadn't stopped. Oh well! I guess it gave me a little story to tell. For the week I averaged over 3.1 miles for the half hour. Continued modest progress.


0 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!